Jordan’s surgery has come and gone, I wish I could say it has gone by quickly…

After his surgery he was admitted into the hospital for 4 days where I uncomfortably slept next to him every night. (Honestly, what is up with the lack of comfortable furniture in the hospital?!) But I’m not complaining, it’s not an option to leave his side.  After being released, we started our familiar journey from Ann Arbor to Grand Rapids and started talking about what happens next.  Our major obstacle is Jordan’s inability (per his doctors orders) to drive.  Jordan will tell you that he is perfectly fine to drive, which I don’t doubt, but it doesn’t matter.  He isn’t allowed to do it. This makes me primarily responsible for making sure he gets to wherever he needs to be. This also habitually makes me late for work…  When we first returned home, we spent a lot of time figuring out what Jordan could and could not do.  Turns out, he wasn’t able to do a whole lot except sit on the couch and use the remote with his right hand.  Thankfully that progressed into using his video game controller with both hands and being able to pour cereal and milk into a bowl.  Needless to say, he hasn’t been able to do a whole lot on his own.  For the first 2 weeks, he couldn’t shower, get dressed or cut food on his own and I was happy to be right there with him whenever he needed help.  This turned into an issue sometimes because I am only one person.  It was hard for me to find time to do everything that I normally do for myself and around the house AND everything that Jordan is responsible for along with these new duties since surgery.   It has been 30 days since his surgery and Jordan can do almost everything on his own, it just takes a little bit longer. He has come SUCH a long way in such a short time.   I’ll admit, the past 30 days have been a challenge but that is all part of the territory.  I wouldn’t trade this experience for anything.  Except maybe for Jordan to set his alarm and actually get up on time. 🙂

Jordan also started chemo again quicker than we were expecting.  We are excited to finish sooner but it is hard to see the long-term benefits right now.  Thankfully this round seems to be going well for Jordan.  He has had some dry heaves but no mouth sores so far which is SO great.  His next round starts March 5 so hopefully we can get some good recovery time in between and continue working on his arm and getting him closer to fully-functioning.

Also, because he had about 6 weeks off of chemo he started growing some hair back!  His mustache looks… hispanic. LOL But overall, we are really looking forward to getting that beard and those eyebrows back. Only 5 more months!